iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

another homemade mill nightmare

Started by jay_d, August 17, 2015, 10:24:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

jay_d

first of all im a logger, not a sawyer. 98% of the logs i cut end up at GP, or West Fraiser, so talk slow im new to sawing.

picked up a homemade 12 foot bandsaw mill for 500 bucks. had a cheesy little 5 hp honda clone on it. swapped it over to a 11 hp gx340. the mill has made straight lumber before (its evident from the rough sawn 1x4s used to make the roof.) ive addressed the drive belt slipping, so i dont think thats the reason she is diving 4 inches in the cut. its a new cooks blade, idk the specs. it gives fits with the band jumping out of the guides and trying to ride on top or down below.
Its tight enough to make a low sounding thong when you pluck it. the guides are kind of ghetto sporting one woodmizer style toward the drive pulley, and a sand which style guide on the other side. as far as i can tell they are not adjustable.
the tracks seem level and square. the carriage has a tendancy to shimmy while in a cut kind of like one side is leading the other. I know you guys like pictures and i intend to get a few as soon as this rain stops. one more thing, when you loosen the pillar bearings on the non drive side to tighten the blade the angle on the bandwheel gets out of whack and it trys to throw the blade, idk how to keep the pulley lined up and tighten the band. I sort of think i might have changed the set in the blade while monkeying with the pulley trying to line the blade up. I think this rig is a pile of junk, but id at least like to saw enough decent wood to pay for it.

Magicman

Hello jay_d, and Welcome to the Forestry Forum.  How about adding your location to your profile.   :)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People