iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Flea Market Find

Started by lowpolyjoe, July 26, 2015, 08:28:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

lowpolyjoe

Wife and I visit a large flea market on the weekends.  I'm always on the lookout for hand tools.   There's usually a lot of hand planes but they're all in terrible condition.  This one (baileys #5) was in pretty good shape.  I already have a similar plane but I couldn't resist.  Picked up these wooden clamps as part of the deal.  I've never used these types of clamps before, are there any cool tricks to get the most out of them?

A bit of rust on one side:

A little bit of a mess on the sole:

lowpolyjoe

I started on reconditioning yesterday.  I sanded most of the rust off the body.

I tried to get some adhesive crud off the wooden parts with some solvent (I think I used mineral spirits?) but it wouldn't come off.  Then I started sanding the tote - which was a  bad idea.   I didn't realize the wood was stained... so I took off the crud and the finish and the stain :D.  Now I'm committed to sanding them down to bare wood.  I'm used to seeing virtually every hand plane have a dark wood colored tote.  Would it look funny if I don't stain and just shellac the light colored wood?  I don't often use stain and I'm not sure what (if anything) I have laying around.

Forgot to take a pic yesterday

yukon cornelius

those are some good finds. I think the light wood would look great.
It seems I am a coarse thread bolt in a world of fine threaded nuts!

Making a living with a manual mill can be done!

redbeard

The wooden Jorgenson clamps are very useful endless uses they can do. You can really apply some major clampling pressure with those.
Whidbey Woodworks and Custom Milling  2019 Cooks AC 3662T High production band mill and a Hud-son 60 Diesel wide cut bandmill  JD 2240 50hp Tractor with 145 loader IR 1044 all terrain fork lift  Cooks sharp

beenthere