iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Metal detector ???????

Started by Sawdustslinger, September 15, 2004, 04:51:49 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sawdustslinger

I'm new to the sawing world. I would like to know what metal detector you guys would recommend.  Thanks

Tom

Welcome Sawdustslinger.

Most of the better companys have detectors in the 300 dollar range that will do a good job without your owning a bank.

Check out White's classic line.  Three detectors that will do the job.  Garrett and other manufacturers also  have comparable machines.

http://www.whiteselectronics.com/classic2.html

VA-Sawyer

I got one last year at Wal-Mart for a little under $300.  It worked great till a stack of wood fell on it. I need to order a new search coil.
VA-Sawyer

Sawdustslinger

Thanks guys for all the information. I had a cheap Radio Shack model......But my dad was helping me move a stack of 2 x 4's. Well let's just say that it would not hold up the weight of a 4020 John Deer.::) And now that I have to replace it, I would like to get a good one.   :)

leweee

Sawdustslinger....check the Drying &Processing forum Pg.4 half way down"metal detectors". ;)
just another beaver with a chainsaw &  it's never so bad that it couldn't get worse.

Gilman

I'm a little fuzzy on this whole metal detector thing.  If I'm reading correctly I think that if you crush your metal detector it no longer locates tramp?  ::)
WM LT70, WM 40 Super, WM  '89 40HD
Cat throwing champion 1996, 1997, 1999. (retired)

VA-Sawyer

Gilman,

Would you ?  :D

VA-Sawyer

Frank_Pender

I run a Rens 3000.  I sure like it.  I have used it for several years without a problem.   It is specifically designed for metal detection in wood fiber, but I have used it to find buried power lines as deep as 4'. 8)
Frank Pender

isawlogs