iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Rookie question

Started by stumpy, September 15, 2004, 03:13:07 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

stumpy

I'm new to sawing and am looking for some hints from you experienced guys. I have a Norwood Lumbermate and am sawing alot of pine for 2x4's, 2x6's etc.
Any hints on how to quickly determine how thick the cant should be to get the most boards?
I cut the slab off, and then another board about 5/4. Then I begin measuring and estimating to see how far I should cut before rotating it. I eventualy figure it out, but it takes me awhile. Just wondering if there is a quicker or easier way. ???
Woodmizer LT30, NHL785 skidsteer, IH 444 tractor

D._Frederick

Make your self a sawing chart for your 2inch cuts. Start your chart at 2 inch for your last cut, then add 2 1/16 inches for each additional cut. This will tell you were to start sawing on your cant, you can take off a 1 inch board on the slap cut to get on the cut line. Using this method, you don't need a shim cut.

WeeksvilleWoodWorx

Accuset.

(sorry an orange joke!)
Brian - 2004 LT40HDG28 owner.

VA-Sawyer

I'll give this a try.  I first level the heart, then cut my first slab. On larger logs I try to get a face at least 6" wide. On smaller ones, I try to imagian the "square in the circle". My second cut is about the same. The third cut sets the width of the boards on smaller logs. On larger logs I often leave a 4X4 or 6X6 post so I make the third cut to be post size plus an even number of boards +kerfs. For small logs the fourth face is cut a number of boards + kerfs above the deck like D_F said in his post. On large logs it is cut like the third face.
I eyeball the first two cuts based on experience. I use my board scale for all cuts after that.
Hope this helps more than it confuses.
VA-Sawyer

DansSawmill