iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Help me pick out a 20" bar and chain

Started by kellysguy, June 28, 2015, 07:39:56 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

kellysguy

Husky 365 that has a badly worn 20" bar. I figure that I like the saw so I might as well buy a new 20" and keep this one for "hazardous duty"  ;D.  I want a decent bar and chain (maybe skip tooth?) but I don't want to spend top "pro" grade money. I also suck at filing chains and I'm still learning. I wouldn't mind buying top notch stuff but not until  know what I am doing. Nothing more than semi-chisel.

Yeah yeah yeah, I know, "It all depends on what you plan to cut".....

Well, I plan on cutting wood..... ;D for everything else...hopefully I'll be using the old bar and chain. :D

DDDfarmer

What area are you in?  I'm in Ontario and this is where I buy from, http://www.cutterschoice.com/shop.aspx    I use the forestry pro bars, I'm no forestry pro myself but I do like to use good equipment.
Treefarmer C5C with cancar 20 (gearmatic 119) winch, Husky 562xp 576xp chainsaws

Pine Ridge

I've had good luck with oregon power match bars and oregon lpx chain on my 372 XPs, i run 20" bars on the two i use. They are decently priced. The lpx chain will dull quickly in dirty wood, but cuts pretty fast in normally clean wood. The sharpening will come to ya in time, get good file, file handle, flat file and raker gauge. When i was younger everybody told me how to file a chain, and after i hit a million rocks i can now sharpen freehand pretty good, just like everything it takes practice.
Husqvarna 550xp , 2- 372xp and a 288xp, Chevy 4x4 winch truck

SawTroll

Quote from: DDDfarmer on June 28, 2015, 08:43:55 PM
What area are you in?  I'm in Ontario and this is where I buy from, http://www.cutterschoice.com/shop.aspx    I use the forestry pro bars, I'm no forestry pro myself but I do like to use good equipment.