iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Post logging cleanup

Started by msal, June 26, 2015, 06:11:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

msal

Hi everyone, new to the forum. I purchased a house last fall on 27+ acres in NH. The land was logged and it seems like there is a mess everywhere. I'm hoping to get some insight on what I can do to clean up the property. I'm no expert, but it seems like the loggers didn't clean up and just left. I was able to get some information from the neighbor about what went down before I had purchased the house/property. I'm including as much information here as I can think of since I'm not sure what's relevant. A few facts:

• They didn't clear cut but did log quite a bit of it. It's more like a bunch of big roads criss-crossing throughout the property. There are also a lot of 'clearings', which are tree-less but have a lot of branches/downed trees covering the floor.
  • The land slopes down behind the house, and then levels out mostly. They tried to get around the house and down the slope from the left side first, and I believe it was too steep. They then moved to the other side of the house (right side) after making a mess on the left side. This left a horseshoe shaped logging road around my house.
  • There are a lot of halfway downed trees being only suspended by other trees. This seems particularly unsafe.
  • They logged right up to the neighbor's property on the right. There is about 15 feet of wooded area between my house and a large lot, then a very very thin treeline between the lot and my neighbor. I presume the lot was used for stacking, etc. It's very large, it looks like a cleared house lot between my house and the neighbor.
  • There were a lot of piles of wood left behind. Some almost entire trees, some more like brush piles.
  • The trails have very large wheel divots left from the skidders. This has left a few pools of water since some of them are so deep.
  • There are a lot of downed trees falling across the trails.