iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Double cut band saw blades

Started by black, June 12, 2015, 03:57:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

black

I have looked at the double cut band saw blades and was wondering if any one has experience with them?
Is it only the crown that keep them on in both directions?
Could they be sharpened and set on standard machines?
Any info/input will be appreciated.

dustyhat

4x4American

I was wondering the same thing myself!
Boy, back in my day..

Nomad

I think you're talking a whole different animal, and a whole different kind of machine.  Only thing they have in common is both using a band.
Buying a hammer doesn't make you a carpenter
WoodMizer LT50HDD51-WR
Lucas DSM23-19

Andre

I think they are talking something like this.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qHQJrdNbgUQ

I have no experience with them but I got a feeling that until you have optimized almost all other variables there are better ways to spend money.
Guessing they need a very solid rigid mill to work at all.
See ya
  Andre' B.

gww

I must say that vidio is of an impressive machine.
gww

bandmiller2

I'am not the sharpest tool in the shed but I'am sure our sharpeners and setters could be easily modified to handle double teeth. Now this is something for a sawmill shootoff best single cut vs. same size double cut, advantage may not be all that great if you consider extra costs and problems. I believe saw guides basically give up and down stability, front to back only if you hit something or push a dull band. Frank C.
A man armed with common sense is packing a big piece

Brad_S.

Those are not inch and a half bands, those are at least four and more likely 6 inches wide.
"Life is what happens to you while you're busy making other plans." J. Lennon

Andre

Here is some interesting reading.
https://archive.org/details/bandsawguidebook00simo

Bit dated, copyright 1921, talks of doublecut blades being made as narrow as 8 inches.

See ya
  Andre' B.

Ron Wenrich