iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

slabs that split badly overnight

Started by bkaimwood, May 08, 2015, 07:11:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

bkaimwood

Hello all!!! Beginner sawyer here...I slabbed 2" thick black walnut a couple days ago...I usually let it sit under the barn roof for a week or two before moving it into the redneck kiln...I also sawed a few yesterday...today, at the end of the day, I went down to look around and was socked to see several cracked, and I mean BAD!!! One is 3 foot long from the end, an inch wide, another 2 feet long 3/8 wide, and so on...it was 82 here with a rh of 40 percent, and this is the first time this has happened... I'm thinking uncontrollable stresses in the log, log sitting too long... 6 months, but other slabs from same lot, no problem... Or now that the heat has hit they just started to dry too fast...HELP!!! Thank u for having me!!
bk

bkaimwood

Hello all...newbie here...thanks for having me...I used to think I was a novice, but reading posts before becoming a member clearly indicates my beginner level...anyhow, I slabbed some 2" black walnut yesterday, some book matches, nice stuff, from some logs I took late fall...I know, they've been sitting too long, but in the past few weeks, I cut many from the same lot, and haven't have this issue...anyhow, beautiful yesterday, when checked on late today, huge end cracks...I mean 3 feet long, one inch wide...some 2 feet, 3/8 inch, and so on...I usually cut, allow under barn roof for a week or so, then on to the redneck kiln....temp here 82, 40 percent humidity... I'm thinking one of 3 things...uncontrollable tension in the log or preexisting condition...tried to start to dry too quick....now I forgot the third...but please educate and opinionate me...thank u!!!
bk

Logger003

I'm betting on drying to fast. But I don't know any thing about black walnut

beenthere