iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Six log rafter to single kingpost joint. Advice needed

Started by tracker_46, May 03, 2015, 09:56:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tracker_46

Hey everyone, I'm looking to replicate this type of six-way joint (see picture) on a job this summer (a pavilion/gazebo).. I'm not a log-builder by trade, but would like to include some log-work in this project mostly for looks. I'm just looking for any recommendations on how to execute this joint- essentially with six log rafters meeting a central log king-post at the apex of the ceiling. The example picture shows the log rafters squared off like in a timberframing application. I'm not opposed to doing this method, but would prefer to keep the round log look at the joint. Any expertise anyone has with how best to do this unusual joint would be very much welcomed.

witterbound

I'd always assumed there were some steel straps over the tops holding the ends together....

Roger Nair

Before getting into joinery, it is really best to address the structural scheme and the scale of the example vs the intended project.  The example really needs to be explored before any talk over details.
An optimist believes this is the best of all possible worlds, the pessimist fears that the optimist is correct.--James Branch Cabell

tracker_46

Quote from: Roger Nair on May 04, 2015, 06:40:06 PM
Before getting into joinery, it is really best to address the structural scheme and the scale of the example vs the intended project.  The example really needs to be explored before any talk over details.