iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Tree Felling Advice

Started by crazy4saws, April 23, 2015, 05:27:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

crazy4saws

Hey everyone, This is my first time posting in the logging forum but have done alot of reading here on the site along with posting in the chainsaw area. I cut wood for my OWB regularly and have a modest assortment of saws.

My question is how do I locate an experience feller/logger in my area who is willing to show me tips/pointers on felling trees? I've read many posts about people asking for advice on tree felling and many say to just go and ask a local logger. I've tried that with little success. I believe they think I'm going to steal their work or they don't want to waste their time, or possibly they don't want the liability.

My goal is to be able to fell trees properly and know what I'm doing with larger ones when I'm cutting fire wood. Im not pursuing this to make extra cash. To me the best experience is hands on with someone who does it everyday and my goal is to be as good as I can at felling.

I've watched many videos online, read different articles and tried to implement them while I'm in the woods but I still don't feel I'm educated enough on it. Ideally it would be great to work with a logger when he needs help.

So what do you guys think? Is this weird for someone to ask local timber fallers for lessons or training in return for free help on a job? Are there other options out there for learning to fell trees? Any and all I out is appreciated. Thanks guys
By the way I'm located in northeast Indiana.

gww

When I cut fire wood I always pick on the trees that are leaning so bad that there is no question on which way they will fall.  I think now that you mention it I am going to watch a couple vidios and see if I can learn anything.

Sorry, I can't help you cause I need help myself.
gww

beenthere

Good that you are looking for some help to add to your tree felling talent.