iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Another WM wavey wood query.

Started by alimo, March 30, 2015, 05:24:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

alimo

Hello Folks.

I am a farmer in Scotland, UK who got a Lucas sawmill back in 2006 to saw fencing to sell to local farmers and townspeople. Then in 2009 I got the chance of a four month old Woodmizer LT20 hydraulic 20hp at such a discount I had to buy it. The seller had got a similar chance to buy an LT70 and needed to raise the money fast.

Got the woodmizer home, started it up and it cut wavey wood. Since then that saw and I have come to hate each other with a vengeance. OK the blades it came with were probably needing sharpened at the outset but over the past 6 years I have just put on 600 hours on the clock because it gets disheartening to put a log on the machine and get those wavey cuts  so bad the wood has to be chucked on the slabwood pile.

Fortunately I have the Lucas as well and use it almost all the time because it either cuts straight or can be easily sharpened if it starts to wander.

But I'm 65 now and the Lucas is getting a bit too manual for me after a couple of hours while I could work the LT20 hydraulic all day - if it would only cut straight. I really want to get this machine going.

I have been through the archive and the WM manual and checked out every alignment and it seems to be all OK. So it must be the blades??? - or the operator. I have a WM sharpener but I have also used 2 other Resharp services. I felt my sharpens were as good as the Resharps so I sharpen my own now. (A clue there perhaps) I use 1.25" 10/30 WM blades. It can cut straight with a new blade on but the blade goes off a lot quicker than WM and you folks suggest it should. And it can cut straight with a home sharpened blade when it feels like it.