iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Blades for dry Walnut

Started by WH_Conley, March 24, 2015, 07:35:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

WH_Conley

I have been sawing off and on for a few months now for a Chinese company. They came into our part of the country and bought all the small Walnut around. A pain to saw but the money is good. Some of it had laid on the log yard lots for 2-3 years. The dust and dirt are so bad that sometimes when the sun hits right you can see sparkles like shattered glass. Silica from sand is my guess. Most of the bark is gone and some are so hard you think you are sawing Hickory. I have been running Wood Mizer 10 degree blades. Using 2-3 times as many blades as I usually do. Any suggestions?
Bill

customsawyer

Go to 4° and turn the water off. You will still use more blades but the 4° are more forgiving.
Two LT70s, Nyle L200 kiln, 4 head Pinheiro planer, 30" double surface Cantek planer, Lucas dedicated slabber, Slabmizer, and enough rolling stock and chainsaws to keep it all running.
www.thecustomsawyer.com

Larry

The Misouri River flooded in '93 and a big whack of walnut on a landing was submerged in flood waters for most of a year.  Some of the walnut was big and veneer quality.  Took the lawyers about 5 years to figure out who owned what.  I got the call to saw them up after they finished, but they weren't worth much by that time.

Any blade with a seven degree hook or less worked ok.  All of the bands dulled fast because of the sand  in the cracks but less hook always retains a sharp tip longer.  I sharpened my own and kept them right at 4 degrees.  While the logs laid in the bottoms the shooters used them as a backstop for target shooting.  Some of the bullet jackets would stop a band right now.

I really like sawing walnut and sold a lot of small stuff that came out when I did TSI on my woodlot.  Some went to Missouri Walnut which was Chinese.