iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Chainsaw choice narrowed down

Started by agraup, February 15, 2015, 12:52:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

agraup

New to the site and glad to be here.  One of the best sites I've seen with regards to quality member feedback.

I've been using my ms270 (16" bar) for probably over 10 years.  It's an awesome saw and has not given me any trouble at all.  I'm looking to get a bigger saw for some of the bigger trees in my area in the foothills north and northwest of Calgary Alberta.  Most of my cutting will be done in elevations 1000ft to 3500ft. Elevations won't vary more than that.  I cut 10 to 12 cords per year of poplar, spruce and pine.  I will be moving at some point in the near future from the city to a forested 160 acre parcel where I will clean up and cut wood to heat the house in the winter.

Here's the dilemma:

I've narrowed down my choices to the ms441cm or the ms461.  I would run a 24" bar.  What really has me guessing is the addition of the Mtronic on the 441. From the posts I've read on this forum people mention it but I would like to know if they would want it on a saw if they were to get a new one.  Are there more problems with it than without it?  I'm old school and need to evaluate whether the Mtronic is a necessary option.  The 461 comes without the mtronic so I consider it an older school model (like my 270) and I guess that's why I'm leaning more to that choice.  I don't want to make a choice based on past comfort feelings.  I like the added power with the 461.

So, Mtronic or not to Mtronic is the question.  Any feedback would be welcome. 

Congrats on a quality site guys.  When it comes to most forums; quality is not the norm.

pabst79

Welcome, I can't say to the mtronic, my stuff is old  :D. Given the option I would go with the 461, a little extra power is always a good thing IMO.  ;)
Not sure which came first, but I have chickens and eggs.

fordf150