iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Horizontal stove pipe

Started by Mike_Barcaskey, February 04, 2015, 08:45:14 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Mike_Barcaskey

How long of a horizontal run of stove pipe can be made without killing the draw? It's probably a factor of the vertical runs before and after the horizontal.
I cant go straight up, could do a 45.
Any thoughts?
It matters not how strait the gate,
How charged with punishments the scroll,
I am the master of my fate:
I am the captain of my soul.

pabst79

You can go quite a ways on the horz, depends on how well your vertical portion drafts, how high above roof line it reaches, then wind and humidity level can cause issues. My indoor boiler has a 3 ft section of horz and drafts great 90% of the time. Is the stovepipe going into a masonry or class A chim? It helps if you can pitch the horz portion a bit to help with draft as well.
Not sure which came first, but I have chickens and eggs.

WI Fire

I have been a firefighter for 30 years. I have seen many cobbled installations that led to a fire. Besides proper clearances, realize that the longer the run, the more cooling, and more precipitate will require more frequent disassembly and cleaning of pipes. A 45 degree, or 30 degree angle will facilitate better draw. You want to pay attention which direction the crimped male end connects, so that creosote collects less at the seams.
  The really big factor for draw will be whether you have an interior or exterior chimney, it's size (8 x8, 10 x10 etc), it's height,which will determine draw and velocity.