iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Humanities to Forestry - Questions

Started by Fil, February 03, 2015, 11:12:54 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Fil

Hello all!

I have been lurking around here a few weeks before finally registering a few days ago. I admire for how friendly of a community the Forestry Forum is, and I feel welcomed before even meeting any of you.

I have a few questions if you all don't mind answering. I have read the other threads about education on this board, so a few of my questions have all ready been answers. I am an 25 year old undergrad at the University of Oklahoma. I am classified as a junior, but I will not graduate for another two years or so; I work full-time for NAPA Auto Parts. My original career path was to enter law school for constitutional law, but I have done a lot of introspective reflection and have become inclined to seek out my teenage idea of environmental conservation/forestry. I have researched forestry for the past few months, and I think I am set on at least the field as a hobby.

So without further adieu, allow me to present my questions:

I ) My degree is Letters-Constitutional Studies http://cas.ou.edu/letters. It is an interdisciplinary degree that focuses on the humanities and law. Do you foresee this being a stumbling block for enter graduate school for forestry?

II ) I am considering a minor in Interdisciplinary Perspectives on the Environment http://ipe.ou.edu/minor.htm. The minor offers a plethora of classes I could take. What type of classes would be most beneficial, and what classes do you advise to steer away from?

List of Classes:
QuoteThe core courses are:
IPE 1013 Consumption and the Environment [III-SS]
IPE 4003 Senior Practicum

The three electives consist of one course each from approved lists of humanities, social science, and natural science courses.

APPROVED HUMANITIES COURSES

ENGL 4453 Literature and Landscape
ENGL 4723 Emerson, Thoreau and Whitman
HIST 3493 American Environmental History [IV-WC]