iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

TJ225 with Detroit 353 running a bit ratty?

Started by ForestFox, January 24, 2015, 10:06:24 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ForestFox

Hello All, Looking for some advice on whether I have a problem or not with my 1965 TJ225 with a 353 in it. Under full load and full throttle it seems to be "breaking up slightly, sort of like the break tone on a chainsaw. I am going to try changing the fuel filter and seeing if my oil bath air cleaner needs attending to. Just wondering if I am on the right tract or should look elsewhere. The motor idles great, starts easily and runs at mid throttle great too. Any help would be much appreciated! STAY SAFE!
TJ225,MF481 wLoader, JD792, MF1080, Husky 2100's,285XP,576XP,261,

Mooseknuckle

Hey there Forestfox, welcome to the forum! There are lots of guys here that will help you out.   I'm new to this as well so I'm not sure whats going on with that 353.   I was wondering if you could post a few pictures if that TJ on the forum.  I have a TJ230 1965 with a 353, controls on the right side of the operator. Im curious to see what your looks like. 

Moose
Pioneer P51 is look'n for a Buddy!!

OntarioAl

ForestFox
Sounds like fuel starvation at full throttle. It may be the filters but it may also (as in my case) be a bit of crud floating around in your fuel tank that gets sucked into the fitting in the tank restricting the fuel flow. Blasting compressed air back through the fuel line usually dislodges it. Draining the tank and sucking out the accumulated crud helps the situation from recurring.
Hope this helps
Al
Al Raman

tantoy

Agreed, sounds like fuel. Filters first. Lots of other easy things to try after that. I have pulled fuel pump and used a 3/8 square socket adapter in my cordless drill to drive pump. Disconnect fuel return line, run drill and see how its flowing.
1968 Garrett 20 Skidder
1991 Ford 1920 Tractor/Loader
2000 Takeuchi tb135 Excavator
Stihl 020, 041 Super, 084
Husqvarna 61, 181SE, 357XP