iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

An overdue introduction (and book) with pictures!

Started by Wisconsintimber, January 24, 2015, 12:39:00 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wisconsintimber

Hi all, I am Peter and I have enjoyed the forum here for a year or so.  I have learned a great deal of information and have enjoyed the humor!  Just thought I'd tell a little about my life...

I grew up on a dairy farm here in WI and have always liked the mechanical side of things(milking cows not so much!) My dad, brother and I have always enjoyed working out in the woods cutting firewood and timber.  When I was in high school, dad had an old persnickety circle saw that we ran on and off.  We did cut a fair amount of lumber, but it required a lot of work to keep working properly.  When I graduated farming was not the way I wanted to go so I took a job in town but still lived on the farm.

Fast forward 10 years to me getting married in June 2010... At that point My wife and I decided we wanted to live on the farm but didn't know where or how.(my parents still live in the farm house) We spent that summer brainstorming where and what to build. You would think that on almost 500 acres it would be simple to find the perfect building site.  My dream was to find an old hand hewn barn to relocate for a house, we looked at a couple, but it just didn't work out.  That fall, maybe out of desperation, we bought a 12x28 log cabin shell from a friend that we would move, put on a new basement, and add on to.(it seemed logical at the time ;D) And we would be living with my parents while we built :-X