iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

LOGRITE 78" Megahook

Started by RayMO, January 09, 2015, 10:32:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RayMO

How many of you all have or have used one . Just ordered one direct from our sponsor and figured the $200.00 plus price might be a bargain if it saves my abused back. I haul logs to a couple of Amish mills that have no unloading equipment . Thinking it might make hand rolling some of those big logs off the trailer a bit easier and safer .

May have to fashion a means of chaining it with lock to back of truck to stop the thieves though .....
Father & Son Logging and sawing operation .

WV Sawmiller

Raymo,

I'm anxious to see what info you get. I just got my mill 2 days ago and cut a big tulip poplar and have logs 16' long and 24" diameter and they are a bear to move. I'm still learning about how much and what kind of equipment I still need. Good luck with it. Sounds like a fine tool
Howard Green
WM LT35HDG25(2015) , 2011 4WD F150 Ford Lariat PU, Kawasaki 650 ATV, Stihl 440 Chainsaw, homemade logging arch (w/custom built rear log dolly), JD 750 w/4' wide Bushhog brand FEL

Dad always said "You can shear a sheep a bunch of times but you can only skin him once

Dan_Shade

I have two of them.  they are handy.  I recommend two, if the logs are that big,  you'll want help.

also, a hi-lift jack is useful for moving big logs.

Woodmizer LT40HDG25 / Stihl 066 alaskan
lots of dull bands and chains

There's a fine line between turning firewood into beautiful things and beautiful things into firewood.

backwoods sawyer

I agree they work best in pairs ;)

I picked up a pair of the heavy 60"  and have used them hard for several years and they have held up well. They work well on logs up to 36".
I still need to get a pair of the 78" megahooks for those over sized logs. 

Saves on the back and gives you good control of the log.
Backwoods Custom Milling Inc.