iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Milling Really Dry Oak? Plea for your experience

Started by moorerp, January 02, 2015, 01:18:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

moorerp

Howdy Sawyers,

I have the chance to buy some really cheap oak beams (presume white oak, but don't know for sure) that have been dry for (potentially) several years. 

Here's the thing: I'm a newbie sawyer and my brother, who knows more about this than I do but not as much as most of you, says that it's probably a stupid idea because oak that dry will be too hard to cut with the very small mill (Hud-son HFE-21) that I have.

I've come across a couple of references in the forum to resawing dry oak, but no thread dedicated to the wisdom of it.  So here're the 2 questions:

1. Do you think milling dry 12x12 oak beams is feasible with a small saw (assuming proper blade and set-up)?
2. If so, what are the specs on the blade would you use?

thanks for you help,
Randy

dyates

Go slow. No blade lube.  The water can swell the dry wood and cause the blade to bind. Definitely will be tough and blade won't last long.
Daniel

barbender

With the right blade, you can cut it. It will likely dull blades quickly. What are you sawing it into?
Too many irons in the fire

terrifictimbersllc

I only know WM blades 1-1/4 x 0.045, with 42HP.  Would try 4 degree first but if didn't have those I'd use a 9 degree. I have both.  If you have to buy them maybe ask for reduced set, say 21 thousandths which might help you with low HP.  I think these blades come usually with about 25 thousandths.  No water but if there's any buildup or the tension starts dropping (blade heating), I'd turn on whatever amount of lube it took to keep the blade clean and tension down.  I don't think you'll have a problem but sometimes going very slow which you might have to do with limited power, heats the blade and you need to cool it with water.  I don't think I have experienced water swelling dry wood and binding the blade.