iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is Ether A Bad Thing?

Started by gfadvm, December 31, 2014, 09:17:22 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

gfadvm

I have an OLD International Diesel Tractor (464) that I use around the mill to move logs with a 3 point boom I made. It does not have glow plugs or any type of block heater. It starts like a dream until the temerature gets in the 20s, then no go.  I have been told that starting fluid is very hard on diesels but lots of my friends use it. I need some input from those with experience.ill I damage it using ether in cold weather?

Thanks in advance!

POSTON WIDEHEAD

I have heard to much of it will damage the engine also.....and it will. In fact a diesel engine will start to rely on it after a while.

There are ways to install a plug in heater on a diesel engine but I'm no mechanic. I'll bet someone on here will know.

Good post!  :)
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

NWP

I put a block heater inline in the lower radiator hose on my processor. Works great. You can get them for $20-30 from the auto parts store. Just measure and cut out a section of the hose and clamp the heater in.
1999 Blockbuster 2222, 1997 Duratech HD10, 2021 Kubota SVL97-2, 2011 Case SV250, 2000 Case 1845C, 2004 Case 621D, John Deere 540A, 2011 Freightliner with Prentice 120C, 2012 Chevrolet, 1997 GMC bucket truck, several trailers, and Stihl saws.

Nichols

If needed remember "just a sniff" because a diesel engine can become addicted to ether!
If Balein' wire and Duck tape ever quit, my whole place is gonna fall apart!

Chuck White

Another option is to get a couple of those magnetic heaters that you stick onto the side of the engine and then plug it in.
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

POSTON WIDEHEAD

Quote from: Chuck White on December 31, 2014, 09:29:30 PM