iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Questions galore

Started by cntryby, December 26, 2014, 11:51:56 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cntryby

I'm just getting started with this stuff and have loads of questions. I've found several answers with searches but find the subjects and  descriptions vary dramatically, making searches difficult.

So as I have more questions I will try to return to this thread. If the mods would prefer to do something different that's fine just let me know.

1)  I see some sawyers sawing slabs and leaving the edges "live", is there a drying advantage to this or is this just a convenience factor for those that have edgers?

2)  For logs that aren't skidded through the dirt, is it worth peeling them prior to sawing? If so, which is easier, pressure washing, chainsaw debarking tool (log wizard) or hand held scraper with a shovel handle?

3)  I'm seeing more and more about uses for sweet gum. Is there really a consensus on the uses of this wood. I need to cut some lumber for barns and trailer decking. These threads are making me think hard about not pushing the sweetgum in a pile and burning it.

4)  Does trees for fence post require the sapwood to be removed?

5)  Is there a moisture % required for lumber or post prior to treatment.

6)  Which is better for loading logs onto the mill, tongs or forks?

Grey haired riders didn't get that way from pure luck.

pineywoods