iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Can a twin blade cut fwd and rev

Started by CaseyK, December 21, 2014, 01:26:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

CaseyK

Im new at all of his & im sure this is a dumb question but since i saw it on you tube i thought i would ask.

Im building a twin blade sawmill (one horizontal and one vertical intersecting at the same point in the log with the horizontal blade leading the vertical by 4-5") and as i approach the log i will be cutting on the left side of the log.

My horizontal blade will be rotating counter clockwise (from a top view) so it will enter the rear of the log and exit out the left side, my vertical blade will be rotating clock wise (if you were on the right side of the log looking at the blade), the blade will enter the top of the log and exit out the rear of the log. 21" horizontal and 26" vertical peterson type blades.

While researching twin blade sawmills on the internet i saw a you tube video of a guy running a twin blade and he would cut a board with every forward pass then adjust (x,y) position of the blade intersection then cut a board while making a reverse pass. He was manually pushing the mill by hand and it had a 1200cc engine on it.

If i cut in reverse my horizontal blade would enter the log from the side and exit out the front and the vertical blade would enter the front of the log and exit out the top.

In the past i know that the big circular saws were hammered or tensioned to cut left hand or right hand which meant a lot and was from what i understand to be an art so that the blade would cut true and i assume that these were meant to cut primarily in one direction.

So my question is if there is anyone out there that has a twin blade that has tried cutting a board while doing a reverse movement and what was the results.
Home built automated twin blade

Swatson

I was was wondering if you could do that as well.  If it does then you could get a board off with each pass which is pretty sweet.