iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

My Favorite to QS is Older Red Oak

Started by POSTON WIDEHEAD, December 18, 2014, 05:30:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

POSTON WIDEHEAD

I really like Q Sawing Sycamore but its just not available around here.

But in my area, Older Red Oak is my favorite. I have some 30 plus dia. RO logs I've been saving for 2-3 years.
I've kept them off the ground and the sap wood is a spongy spalt. Perfect! The heart wood is has hard as a rock.
The rays and flecks of an older log just seem to be a much deeper, richer chocolate color. I have compared the older QS lumber with green QS lumber. The older just seems much more beautiful.

This log was a 31 inch. I sawed 5 center boards out of the middle at 22 1/2" wide and 1-9/16 thick.
The very center board I sawed the pith out and got 2 - 10 inch boards. The other 4 - 22 inch boards will really make a nice table top.
I did QS legs to be turned or worked into legs. All in all, it turned out really nice and will be sold as a table package.

Check out the grain.....just makes my mouth water.  :D

I did have some help. I met a new friend the other day. One of our State Troopers just came out of the blue the other day. He bought some Cedar from me......and he wanted to learn about the mill and the difference in wood. He helps me now on his days off.......its a great stress relief from his stressful job and also saves my back. I pay him in lumber for his shop ;D

The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

Dave Shepard

I like it! I've never intentionally quartered any red oak. I plan on building an inventory of native hardwoods starting this summer. QSRO is now on the list. ;D
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

Magicman

Looking good.  I know where you got that octagon from.   8)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People