iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

what winch is this?

Started by mjeselskis, December 18, 2014, 07:42:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mjeselskis

Thinking about driving 4 hours to check out this skidder. I'm trying to ID this winch and find out if it has any quirks. It may be a gearmatic but I've never seen one with the external bearing.

Any tree farmer experts tell me if it is a c4 or c5?

2006 WM LT28  1993 John Deere 5300
Husqvarna 562XP & 365 X-Torq

mjeselskis

mad murdock

I am by no means an expert, but have been around a few. What engine is in it? That will help pinpoint what it is. It looks to me like a 4, but really hard to tell. Is it a Carco winch? I think later on that is what they put on them.
Turbosawmill M6 (now M8) Warrior Ultra liteweight, Granberg Alaskan III, lots of saws-gas powered and human powered :D

HiTech

I would say a C4 with a newer style log arch and an older style winch. lol It has the short nose and 8 bolt rims and what appear to be 16.9 x 30 tires, all C4 stuff. The late 60's C4's had a tube steel arch...so I would say this is a 70's model. Not sure on the winch...maybe a Hercules??? Not a bad looking machine if it runs and the price is right.

mjeselskis

The engine is a 353 Detroit. It has 16.9-30 farm tires. Don't know what the axles are

loggah

Looks like a Braden or Tulsa winch to me someone adapted it to the skidder must have a chain drive up to the worm gear,or a hydraulic motor mounted on the shaft.
Interests: Lombard Log Haulers,Tucker Sno-Cats, Circular Sawmills, Shingle Mills, Maple Syrup Making, Early Construction Equipment, Logging Memorabilia, and Antique Firearms

smwwoody

that looks like a braden.  they came from the factory on the old C5 pulp wood specials
Full time Mill Manager
Cleereman head rig
Cooper Scragg
McDonugh gang saw
McDonugh edger
McDonugh resaw
TS end trim
Pendu slab recovery system
KJ4WXC

mjeselskis