iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Beginner looking for advice on a workshop project

Started by Lanyon, December 05, 2014, 12:49:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Lanyon

Greetings from northwestern BC!

I'm brand new to these forums and I'm looking forward to learning some things about timber framing from you fine folks. I live in an area where it's not likely I'll ever be able to get professional instruction, so I have to make do with books and the internet.

To give you an idea of my experience level, I'm a complete beginner to timber framing. I have some limited experience with stick framing though.

Without further ado, here's my project I'm looking for advice on.

I have a small shed on my property that I'm going to be knocking down soon and I would like to build a 26' x 18' shop in its place. I plan to have an 8' ceiling for the ground floor shop, and I want to put a gambrel roof on it so that I can have an upper floor as well where I might put in an office or craft space for the wife, etc.

I live in a rural location and have plenty of wood on my property (primarily western hemlock, with a few scattered amabilis fir, western red cedar, pine, and spruce). I've been curious to try some basic timber frame construction for a while, so I figured why not go for putting up the shop post-and-beam style and try some timber framing? It'll be a hell of a lot cheaper than the alternative seeing as how I can procure most of my own timber.

My biggest question regards span distances though. Ideally, I'd like to keep the entire floor space open without any support posts, so we're looking at a number of posts put up only on the perimeter of my 26' x 18' floor plan. This, of course, requires me to be able to span 18 feet such that it's strong enough to act as a floor for a second floor.

A quick look at some span tables in a book I have reveals that in traditional framing, to span 18 feet with traditional dimensions of hem-fir I'd be looking at 2x12s.