iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Sawing white oak to re-deck trailers

Started by Qweaver, November 29, 2014, 11:12:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Qweaver

I need to re-deck several of my trailers.  I plan to saw white oak 1.5" x 8" and bolt them down green.  Maybe better to let them dry first?  The price for logs at the log yards is really high...what should I offer to buy the logs from a logger.  I have enough use to buy an entire truck load, but I doubt that I can find that much white oak to make an entire load.   I have no experience buying logs from a logger...so I don't know what to offer.
Suggestions?
So Many Toys...So Little Time  WM LT28 , 15 trailers, Case 450 Dozer, John Deere 110 TLB, Peterson WPF 10",  AIM Grapple, Kubota 2501 :D

StimW

Don't know if you are familiar with how they fasten wood flooring on semi trailers but they use a 5/16" Torq Head self-tapping screw.
You drill a 9/32" hole and run them down with an impact. Fast and secure.
I have replaced dozens of complete floors on 40'- 45' and 48' semi's dry vans and flat beds over a 30 plus year career.
New HF Band Mill
Branson 35 hp 4 WD Diesel Tractor W/Attachments- Backhoe, FEL W/ Bucket or Forks, 4' Tiller
4000# Clark Forklift W/24" Tires
Promark 6" Brush chipper W/18 hp Kohler

POSTON WIDEHEAD

White Oak prices, I'm sure are gonna be different depending on your market.
Round here I can buy them anywhere from 300-350 for the butt log and price goes down as the log goes up the tree because of limb knots.

I sell WO lumber for 1500/ thousand or $1.50 a BF for Green Deck Boards. My prime WO 1 inch to 1-1/4 inch lumber can be sold for as much as $2.00 a BF depending on what the MC is.

Most of my WO logs are free from my tree service guys and this helps me a lot.

As I said, prices per BF will be different depending on supply and demand.