iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Big basswood?

Started by woodjunky, November 24, 2014, 03:26:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodjunky

I bought a few acres this fall with nice maple, white ash, basswood, and even some smaller black cherry. I was thrown off this winter when I looked up this winter and seen berries way up on the biggest basswood trees. But what might just have been bad memory, I could have sworn a few of these giant basswoods were giant maples when the leaves were on??? I am a rookie, but i know a maple leaf...... But theres the berries. So for now im just really bad at identifying:)

Now I was drooling over some massive black cherry logs  that were cut on the milling forum. I was told Black cherry doesnt get that big, and my tree's seemed to back that theory up.... Those giant cherry logs were not only bigger, but looked different. Old growth bark always has a different look that bark on what we call "mature trees" today...

My cherry trees i know i have dont produce berries? That fact threw me off the black cherry  trail right away, but despite no berries they are undoubtedly black cherry.....

The giant basswood on the other hand? They have berries. and they dont look like the leaf/berry combo of a basswood. No leaves and plenty of berries. Still believed they were basswood til recently I looked at the biggest tree on the property. a thick trunk that leans at a 45 degree angle. basswood berries on it. But the bark is smoother than usual. and the bark had a pinkish hue to it where the bark is thinnest... Thats the first time i thought maybe these were very big old growth gnarly black cherry trees from the U.P. of michigan. It was swampy in the old days before the farmers dug a ditch across the section to drain it some.......

These are before the leaves changed. I will get winter photos when my truck gets fixed. Im betting basswood, but am still wondering so worth it to ask the pro's.   

woodjunky