iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Wife is sick of talking about my mill.

Started by woodjunky, November 24, 2014, 01:30:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

woodjunky

New here. I am a log home builder by trade. Did some milling on a hydraulic LT40 for an operation around here when I first came off the road 7 years ago. Wanted one since. What changed everything was i got my first piece of land this fall. 3 Acres with power. Nice mature hardwoods in there! Mostly sugar maple. But has some nice mature white ash and basswood mixed in. There was also a mystery tree, that turned out to be black cherry! Lucky me:) At the same time this fall I was building a full scribe from scratch for a big logger. He dropped off a skidder, and a crane, and let me loose. Was my first experience in logging. So all that was missing was a mill........

I found out the mystery tree's were cherry when I was cutting down trees that were leaning on healthy trees. General clearing of dead stuff. The mystery tree is bright red! These trees dont have cherries on them , so i had to do more looking before i was sure. These cherries are no bigger than 12" mostly. And are a sickly breed with alot of dead and dying. alot of funky burls. I hacked about 10 down that were standing dead, and have them piled next to my new mill...

Oh yea I got a new mill! .... got it the day before the 5 feet of lake effect snow dropped on us, and my front axle broke on my truck..... So it sits under tarps under snow with my logs waiting for my truck to get fixed. 10 days and counting. My wife can not handle my OCD anymore. So I found a forum full of equally addicted wood junkies.