iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

just ordered a 038 super..

Started by Woodcutter_Mo, November 13, 2014, 03:51:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Woodcutter_Mo

Hello, I just ordered a used Stihl 038 super for my dad as a Christmas gift. He had a 038 along time ago and said its his favorite saw he's had.
Its supposed to be in good working condition but I have no 1st hand experience with this model. Is there anything in particular I should check when it arrives to make sure its ready to go to work?

Thanks
-WoodMizer LT25
-592XP full wrap, 372XP, 550XP, 455 Rancher, RedMax GZ3500T
-Fixer-uppers/projects:
024AV, MS260, MS361, MS460, Shindaiwa 488, 394XPG

beenthere

south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

Woodcutter_Mo

-WoodMizer LT25
-Fixer-uppers/projects:

Al_Smith

From my perspective the 038 series was one of the best if not the best Stihl ever made .

If there is a weak link it would be the top left hand side anti vib mount .The rubber can tear away from the metal allowing the saws undercarriage to flex which will in time tear the intake boot causing an air  leak .It's about an 8 dollar part .

Woodcutter_Mo

Quote from: Al_Smith on November 13, 2014, 07:49:54 PM
From my perspective the 038 series was one of the best if not the best Stihl ever made .

If there is a weak link it would be the top left hand side anti vib mount .The rubber can tear away from the metal allowing the saws undercarriage to flex which will in time tear the intake boot causing an air  leak .It's about an 8 dollar part .

OK I'll be sure to check that out. Thanks
-WoodMizer LT25
-Fixer-uppers/projects:

joe_indi