iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Cost range for Black walnut logs?

Started by Brad_bb, November 01, 2014, 01:40:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Brad_bb

I want to buy some Black Walnut logs to mill on my LT15 at my place.  Can you help give me a range on what I should expect to pay for the logs(not delivered to me, assuming i have to take car of that).  mid to southern IL or IN.  I want them because I want to mill several timbers to use in a timberframe from Black walnut.  Not typical I know, but a few featured ones in the frame.  Plus I just want to get a feel for what cost in log form is for BW.  I'm pretty new to milling. thanks. 

PS.  Any advice on how to find logs??  Put an ad on Craigslist?  Is there someplace on the web to find log sellers in those areas? 
Anything someone can design, I can sure figure out how to fix!
If I say it\\\\\\\'s going to take so long, multiply that by at least 3!

Brad_bb

I found this link for IL
http://web.extension.illinois.edu/forestry/il_timber_prices/pdf/itp_dec2013.pdf

From what I'm reading it looks like $600-900 MBF for Stumpage, and $1100-$2000 MBF delivered to the mill.  Does stumpage mean cut and on the ground?  Or the tree as it stands and you have to pay to have it cut?
Anything someone can design, I can sure figure out how to fix!
If I say it\\\\\\\'s going to take so long, multiply that by at least 3!

beenthere

The tree is on the stump.. standing.

but quote from the FF dictionary
QuoteStumpage       Value of timber as it stands uncut in the woods. -Standing ...

QuoteAny advice on how to find logs??

If me, I'd go visit a sawmill with a supply of walnut logs and ask if you can pick some out and buy them. They would tell you 1) if they would sell, and 2) what they would charge. If ok, then you would get the logs of your choice. To me, that beats buying stumpage where you will have to take the whole tree.
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others