iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

best professional saw, with larger displacement

Started by aaaice, October 23, 2014, 07:35:35 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

aaaice

I am not a professional, but if I was, what would the best machine be to buy, that has large displacement / high power, and can handle bars pretty long, for sure over 30" for slicing very-very large trunks already on the ground? New machine OK, or older machine OK. I have time . . . .
We can still save this country, by converting one sheep at a time . . .

mad murdock

I'll test the waters on this question......If it were me, it would depend on the amount of use, and the potential for return.  If it was an occasional thing, and/or there were not much return on my effort as far as what i get out of my effort, I would go for a good used saw, along the order of any 80cc plus variant, with a bias towards anything that was painted black and yellow, or green. If it was a bar over 48" I would want something in the 100cc plus range, again used, unless there were no prospects of a decent used saw.  If it were a money making deal that depended upon the ability to use such a saw day in/day out with a high degree of dependability in mind, i may still opt for a good used saw with spares to back it up, and plan on being my own shop to fix any issues, or If i did not have ths skills/tools to fix it myself, I would look at New,  then it would be Husky395 as my first choice for a bar less tha 48" and if it was needed to be that or longer, a Husky 3120, with the Stihl 660/880 as a second choice new.
Turbosawmill M6 (now M8) Warrior Ultra liteweight, Granberg Alaskan III, lots of saws-gas powered and human powered :D

clww

For over 30" bars, I really like my Stihl 084. Smallest bar I run on it is 33".
Many Stihl Saws-16"-60"
"Go Ask The Other Master Chief"
18-Wheeler Driver

HolmenTree

X2 what clww and mad murdock said.
But aaaice, seeing your in Michigan your timber would compare what I have here in Manitoba.