iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

A Better Use For Firewood

Started by Sawyer4fun, October 20, 2014, 09:13:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sawyer4fun

Hi All,

Thanks for the warm welcome! 

I am still learning on my mill but I really like finding new and interesting wood and sawing techniques.  Here are a few pictures of some boards from a curved / bent Maple that I was about to cut into firewood and then thought ... I bet that would make some cool live edge slabs  :)

I made a jig to hold the curved log upright against the dogs by attaching a board across the 2 bottom ends and then clamping it in place (like an arch).  It created some really interesting boards with a live edge around the full circumference.

Now that I have added curved trees to my wish list too I am having a hard time finding trees for firewood :)

Full live edge board.

Used one to make my wife a live edge bread board for the thanksgiving table ... lots of points for that one :)

Finally, the new bread board on our harvest table made from 100 year old silo boards.  Nothing like 100 years of weather to create great character!

Woodland Mills HM126, grew up visiting my Grandfather's mill and always loved the smell of sawdust :)

Magicman

Nice ingenuity and craftsmanship.   :)
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

POSTON WIDEHEAD

OUT  IF  THIS  WORLD  ! Beautiful.
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

RM Farm

Awesome!!! I too like new ideas.
Thanks, Robert

Woodland Mills HM126; Kubota L3200 with FEL, quick attach forks.

Tree Dan

Great save on the almost to be firewood...glad to see your having fun
Wood Mizer LT40HD, Kubota KX71, New Holland LS150, Case TR270