iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

newbie here

Started by sfdems313, September 24, 2014, 09:03:15 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

sfdems313

I am new to this site and would love any input on which sawmill to get? I have been looking for about 5 years at many different companies and models and still have not bit the bullet. I live in Maine and have 2 pieces of land with many beautiful trees that i want to mill and build a garage and make some furniture with. What do you have for a mill and would you buy it again? I would like to mill on the side for extra cash as well. Thank you, Jason

mad murdock

Welcome to the FF sfdems313!  Check for local FF members, maybe you can see a few mill operations in "live action".  Many good mills out there. I started on the low budget/low production end with a CSM. I still have as CSM. I mill for myself and the support of the treefarm and home improvement projects. I need the versatility and portability of a CSM. If I had a mill "wish" I would have some sort of circle mill, either a handset circle mill or a swing mill.
Turbosawmill M6 (now M8) Warrior Ultra liteweight, Granberg Alaskan III, lots of saws-gas powered and human powered :D

Sixacresand

Welcome to the Forum, sfdems313. 
"Sometimes you can make more hay with less equipment if you just use your head."  Tom, Forestry Forum.  Tenth year with a LT40 Woodmizer,

sfdems313

great idea, thank you very much Mad Murdock

yukon cornelius

welcome! I bought am EZ Boardwalk Jr. I bought it to build my house and have since started making furniture. I mill every so often for others but its rare. mine is a manual mill. I love it and have had zero problems with it just a few operator errors. I would certainly buy it again. mine cost around $6000 with trailer package, 11 blades, shingle and lap siding attachment and delivery. I bought it new. it has paid itself off over and over.
It seems I am a coarse thread bolt in a world of fine threaded nuts!