iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

120 acres of Pine and Oak, What to do?

Started by dsgsr, September 14, 2014, 11:21:17 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

dsgsr

:) I'm very happy to have it. Got a beginners saw mill coming. Not sure where to start. Not sure what the market is like in my area (Monroe,Me.) I spoke with someone a town over and was told they turn down work. Right now I have plenty of wood to saw (My own). I'm new to milling, don't want to mess up someone else's logs. I have the equipment I need to log the wood (two tractors, winch, grapple, three saws, 10-ton trailer with bunks) So, do I log the cream and sell in log form and use the lesser grade for the buildings I want to build? Should I mill the cream and sell in lumber form? Also need to pick brains about where to sell log form, (new to this area) I have cut and sold off and on for the last 17-yrs in another area of Maine.

Thank you,
David
Northlander band mill
Kubota M59 TLB
Takeuchi TB175 Excavator
'08 Ford 550 dump
'87 International Dump
2015 Miller 325 Trailblazer Welder/Gen

Larry

I would start with a forester.  He can take an inventory for future tax use.  At the same time he can come up with a timber stand improvement plan.  Chances are you will have a lot of low grade that needs to come out.  Start milling that stuff.

Larry, making useful and beautiful things out of the most environmental friendly material on the planet.

We need to insure our customers understand the importance of our craft.

drobertson

Quote from: Larry on September 14, 2014, 01:35:03 PM
I would start with a forester.  He can take an inventory for future tax use.  At the same time he can come up with a timber stand improvement plan.  Chances are you will have a lot of low grade that needs to come out.  Start milling that stuff.
Larry said it right in my opinion, need an inventory to start with, then a tsi plan. Lots of options with 120 acres.