iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

DMV Rant

Started by warren46, September 09, 2014, 08:52:24 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

warren46

I don't rant online often.  In fact this is my first time so bear with me.

I have a 2007 pickup.  The registration was due at the end of July. My wife went online to pay the renewal August 14 but the DMV site was down for maintenance so she sent in the renewal August 15 with a check for $139.00 as stated in the renewal notice.  Yesterday we got a letter from the DMV stating that the amount was insufficient since we were 15 days late and an additional a new amount of $146.00 was due to cover the interest that was due for the 20 days.  I was instructed to submit the new amount and wait two to three weeks for them to send a refund of my original $139.00.  Our $139.00 check was cashed on August 31.

Now that is not so bad by itself but wait, there's more.

Today I am driving to the mill when this all white Camaro with no markings flashes its blue lights at me and the young officer tells me that the reason he stopped me is that my tags are expired.  I explain that I have mailed in my check but have not received my stickers yet.  He dutifully runs my plates and discovers that the DMV as no record of my payment.  My money must be in some limbo account waiting for the time when the DMV deigns to return my money.

The good news is that the fine is only $25.00, the bad news is $190.00 of court costs are also due.  I can go the court on October 3 and explain the situation and the fine and costs will likely be dismissed but I lose half a day or more appearing.

Something seems wrong with this procedure.
Warren E. Johnson
Timber Harvester 36HTE25, John Deere 300b backhoe/loader.

POSTON WIDEHEAD

Move to South Carolina Warren......its worse down here.  :)

Something does seem.....not so right.  say_what
The older I get I wish my body could Re-Gen.

LaneC