iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Is this chain ruined?

Started by cstoney04, September 07, 2014, 10:14:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cstoney04

So I graduated up to Husqvarna's 562xp from my 455 rancher.  I put about 10 cords through the 455 but was running into some 24" trees on my property that were no fun to buck with the rancher.  It managed but was tedious.  Anyways, after the running the 562xp for a few weeks I needed to hit the rakers. The Rancher uses a H80-72 chain whereas the 562xp uses an H46-72 (both for 20" bars).  I successfully sharpened the rakers on the Rancher a few times using a combination of the oregon depth gauge tool and husqvarna's version; but the rakers on the 562xp chain were considerably different.

Needless to say I filed them down pretty good, but not only that, I totally botched the angle on the front of the depth gauge.  I sharpened the teeth as well when I did the depth gauges, but when I went to use the saw, I was getting saw dust, and had to force the chainsaw into to the wood.  Not wanting to ruin the saw I quit for the day and ordered a few more chains.  But is this one ruined?  Some of the angles/shape on the front of the dept gauge seem pretty flat compared to those on the new chains.

Husky 562xp and 435; Scag 61" Hydro; '05 Kawasaki KVF 700;  Echo PB 750H & SRM-22; 2x Fiskars X27; PTR 91 GI, Stag Model 1,  M&P9

Hilltop366

Hi and welcome, did you have the chain off the saw?

cstoney04

No, I use a granberg for the teeth and used the husqvarna gauge seen here:

http://www.husqvarna.com/us/support/working-with-chainsaws/filing-the-chain/

for the rakers.  But I removed the gauge and free-handed because the rakers weren't proud of the gauge by much at all if any.  (ie it didn't seem like I was taking off very much if any at all using the gauge).  The chips just before this were noticably smaller when cutting with the saw than when the chain was new (roughly 3-4 passes with the granberg)