iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Spalted Maple....would like some advice.

Started by cutterboy, August 31, 2014, 05:34:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

cutterboy

Hi all. I sawed a red maple log today that had some spalted wood in it. I have no experience with spalted lumber so I don't know if these boards are too far gone or not. One side of the log was kind of punky and three boards had some spalt and two more just rotten in the middle and the rest of the boards were fine. This log was a butt log and the boards are 12" wide.

Thanks for any info or advice you can give me.      Cutter
To underestimate old men and old machines is the folly of youth. Frank C.

Beaudeane

I hope they're not too far gone. It very pretty wood. I had some that was oak instead of maple that was splalted  like that. I made new cabinets & table for my camper with mine. It planed fine & glued up same as the regular oak I had used. It's been used a few times this summer & still looks & is holding up fine. Wish I could figure out how post pics from iPhone & they'd be on here too. Good luck on a better answer than I gave, but I don't have one. My spalted was bout same weight & hardness of non splalted I used
Don't think of it as `gun control', think of it as `victim disarmament"

redbeard

Spalt with figure makes a nice seller. Those look like you cut them at the right time.
Whidbey Woodworks and Custom Milling  2019 Cooks AC 3662T High production band mill and a Hud-son 60 Diesel wide cut bandmill  JD 2240 50hp Tractor with 145 loader IR 1044 all terrain fork lift  Cooks sharp

LeeB