iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Storing,stacking, cutting

Started by Kowboy, August 31, 2014, 11:49:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kowboy

Hey all, I'm brand new to the sawmill world and I have a ton of questions. Just bought a 1996 b20. I've never ran a mill but before I get her going here a a few questions.
1. On soft and hard woods if I was wanting 2x6's do I cut to exact dimensions or allow for wood to shrink?
2. How long do I let wood dry in barn before I can use it?
3. On pine trees that are dead or dying standing how's the best way to find out if wood is still good before cutting it down? When it is cut down how long will it stay good on ground?
Thank you and please forgive me for my very lack of knowledge. I been wanting a mill for years and I just accidentally fell on a great deal on this B20

Chuck White

Welcome to the Forestry Forum, Kowboy.
~Chuck~  Cooks Cat Claw sharpener and single tooth setter.  2018 Chevy Silverado and 2021 Subaru Ascent.
With basic mechanical skills and the ability to read you can maintain a Woodmizer  LT40!

Magicman

Welcome to the Forestry Forum Kowboy. 

There is really no exact "one size fits all" answer your questions, but there are general answers.
Quote1. On soft and hard woods if I was wanting 2x6's do I cut to exact dimensions or allow for wood to shrink?
Soft and hardwoods shrink at different rates and also it depends upon if the tree was dead standing, dying, or live and healthy.  Also, tighter grained logs will shrink less.  Obviously you can expect more shrinkage with lumber sawn from live trees.  As a general rule for 2X6's I oversize 1/16 in thickness and 1/8 in width.

Quote2. How long do I let wood dry in barn before I can use it?
That depends upon what you will be using it for.  I have seen customers nail it up the next day, but 6 months is a good rule of thumb.

Quote3. On pine trees that are dead or dying standing how's the best way to find out if wood is still good before cutting it down?