iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Top three woodworking machines that scare you...

Started by hackberry jake, August 27, 2014, 08:55:41 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hackberry jake

Mesquite Buckeyes red gum eucalyptus thread got me to thinking. Different wood workers have various degrees of respect for different tools in the shop. Like, nobody is likley to be afraid of a palm sander, but pretty much everyone will probably have table saw in their top three that scare you. Scariest being number one, my top three are.

1. Table saw. The only tool that has ever really bit me... not really bit me but tried to send a push stick through my arm.

2. Shaper. Mainly just because they have a lot of rotating mass, especially with larger cutters.

3. Bandsaw. Recently bought one I am in the process of restoring, and I have VERY little experience using one. The noise they make when under load sounds like something out of a scary movie.
https://www.facebook.com/TripleTreeWoodworks

EZ Boardwalk Jr. With 20hp Honda, 25' of track, and homemade setworks. 32x18 sawshed. 24x40 insulated shop. 30hp kubota with fel. 1978 Massey ferguson 230.

Dave Shepard

1. Radial Arm Saw (aka Radical Harm Saw)
2. Radial Arm Saw
3. Table Saw.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!

hackberry jake

I have no idea how radial arm saws have such a bad rap. I feel pretty safe using mine. making cross cuts, it can't sling a board at you like a table saw can, and I can run a zero clearance back stop to eliminate it slinging small cut-offs like my compound miter saw does from time to time.

EZ Boardwalk Jr. With 20hp Honda, 25' of track, and homemade setworks. 32x18 sawshed. 24x40 insulated shop. 30hp kubota with fel. 1978 Massey ferguson 230.

Dave Shepard

They have a tendency to cut peoples thumbs and hands off, if they are parked in the wrong spot.
Wood-Mizer LT40HDD51-WR Wireless, Kubota L48, Honda Rincon 650, TJ208 G-S, and a 60"LogRite!