iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Question about curing logs.

Started by jrose1970, August 15, 2014, 08:07:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jrose1970

Hey everyone,
   I am a complete rookie. I would like to saw some 10" x 12" x 10' (or so) for a cabin.
What is step one? Should I fell the trees and let them start curing, or should I wait until I'm ready to saw them up?  If they cure, how long should they cure? If I cut them green, will they warp?
Thanks fellow fellers! (The word feller is in the bible. LOL  One whos fells trees.) Isaiah was a southerner.
Okay, I'll shut up. :D
HFE-36; International 424-37HP; McCullogh Pro 10-10

Magicman

I would fell, saw, and sticker within the shortest interval possible.  There would be very little concern if there is a few weeks or even months between felling and sawing, but no advantage.  My thoughts would be to get the lumber properly stickered and drying as soon as possible before your cabin build.
Knothole Sawmill, LLC     '98 Wood-Mizer LT40SuperHydraulic   WM Million BF Club Member   WM Pro Sawyer Network

It's Weird being the Same Age as Old People

Never allow your "need" to make money to exceed your "desire" to provide quality service.....The Magicman

jrose1970

Okay great!
  Thanks for the advice. That is exactly what I will do.

beenthere

QuoteI would like to saw some 10" x 12" x 10' (or so) for a cabin.

Building a timber frame?
south central Wisconsin
It may be that my sole purpose in life is simply to serve as a warning to others

jrose1970

Yes, I think it would be. Our friend was asking about the logs, so I'm thinking she's thinking timber frame.

Ianab

Traditional timber framing would usually be done with green wood. It's easier to work, and large timbers take years to dry. Framing and cladding could be put up green as well, or dried first as 1 - 2" boards dry in a sensible time frame (months not years)