iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Demonstration for Arborists

Started by Tom the Sawyer, June 21, 2014, 05:42:46 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Tom the Sawyer

Yesterday I gave a couple of demonstrations of my TK B-20 bandsaw mill for those attending the Kansas Arborists Association Field Day.  The event was held in a city park - the city where I used to work as a police officer and where I have milled for the city.  One of the parks guys told me about the event and I signed up as a vendor.  Attendance was 255 arborists, both for private companies and for municipalities.  Afternoon heat index was just over 100°.

All of the vendors were introduced just before lunch and I had a chance to tell the group how milling offered an alternative to mulch, firewood, or the landfill.  Especially for their clients who had lost a special, or sentimental tree.

I made a number of contacts during the demonstrations and learned that not every piece of wood gets chipped, split or dumped.  There were several who told me that they had saved nice logs in their equipment yards.  Some had piles of logs of various species and didn't know what to do with them.

A couple of them said that they had sawmills, either bandsaws or swing mills.  One told me he bought a Lucas mill - the largest one- last winter and it had never had fuel in it.  Just sitting there unused.  I am going to visit his facility, he says he has more than 50 logs -perhaps we can work something out.  Of those who said they had mills and weren't using them, a common excuse was that tree work pays much better than sawing.  From what I have seen around here, that is probably true.

07 TK B-20, Custom log arch, 20' trailer w/log loading arch, F350 flatbed dually dump.  Piggy-back forklift.  LS tractor w/FEL, Bobcat S250 w/grapple, Stihl 025C 16", Husky 372XP 24/30" bars, Grizzly 20" planer, Nyle L200M DH kiln.
If you call and my wife says, "He's sawin logs", I ain't snoring.

thecfarm