iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

financial bennefit of milling your own / sheathing Q

Started by BigJim2185, June 18, 2014, 03:07:30 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

BigJim2185

With a potential mill purchase looming, I want to make sure the expense is justified.  My frame plans are not completed yet, and the planner doesn't want to give me any numbers for milling the timbers before the plans are finalized.  While I don't blame him, I am also a teacher with a summer vacation getting underway, and I don't want the time to go to waste.  I'm going to try to price materials (flooring, sheathing, siding, 2x lumber) the best I can without completed plans, and see if this will justify the purchase before the frame is factored in.  If the numbers work, the plan is to get underway producing and storing these materials this summer, then harvest, mill, and cut the frame over the winter/spring for a summer 2015 raising.   

Those of you who milled your own frame timbers and building materials, did you calculate significant savings over purchasing materials?  I'm leaning toward either a Thomas 8020 or a Norwood HD36, and I have a building that will do the trick with minimum modification, so probably somewhere around $11K to get set up.  Over a lifetime of barns and family homes, I think I'll get my money's worth, but for the current project I just want to be able to explain the purchase to my wife in a way that doesn't involve jumping up and down yelling "I WANT IT."

Final question: I'm getting mixed messages about sheathing.  Should cedar or pine T&G wall sheathing in a wrap and strap application be 2x6 if there are nailing purlins, or would 1x6 be acceptable?  Should roof sheathing be 2x6?   
-Thomas 8020 w/10' extension
-New Holland TC45D w/ fel and farmi jl501

LittleJohn