iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Info on how to mod stihl ms201t

Started by TommyTree, June 02, 2014, 11:37:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

TommyTree

Im a British tree surgeon considering buying some 201's which are known as being underpowered so wanted to know if anyone has the info on exactly how to modify the 201 to get more power ? I have looked on youtube and there is only demo videos and i cannot find the exact info on the net or any arb forums. If anyone could help with the mod info, please let me know. Thanks.

nk14zp

Drain all fluids then throw under tire and run over them.
Belsaw 36/18 duplex mill.
Belsaw 802 edger.
http://belsawsawmills.freeforums.org/

JohnG28

I saw elsewhere that they have come up with a factory mod pack with a different coil and carb. I believe you get more fuel and advanced timing to speed up response.
Stihl MS361, 460 & 200T, Jonsered 490, Jonsereds 90, Husky 350 & 142, Homelite XL and Super XL

Andyshine77

The 201t is useless stock. Open up the exhaust, advance the timing 8° and tune the carb. After that the 201T will be around 20% stronger than a muffler modded 200T. With these simple mods, the 201 will gain 40% to 50%, so the update kit really isn't needed. However the newer updated 201t's only see about 20% gain with these mods, so yes the newer saws run much better. Nevertheless 20% is still a nice bump in power..
Andre.

Ivestertree

Quote from: Andyshine77 on June 03, 2014, 05:30:09 AM
The 201t is useless stock. Open up the exhaust, advance the timing 8° and tune the carb. After that the 201T will be around 20% stronger than a muffler modded 200T. With these simple mods, the 201 will gain 40% to 50%, so the update kit really isn't needed. However the newer updated 201t's only see about 20% gain with these mods, so yes the newer saws run much better. Nevertheless 20% is still a nice bump in power..

How do you advance the timing 8 degrees?
I have a 201T and would like to get the most out of it.
Ivester's Tree & Lawn, LLC