iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

What did it take to incorporate and get your business started?

Started by Thehardway, May 14, 2014, 10:14:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Thehardway

I have been sawing as a hobby now for about 5 years.  I bought my mill primarily to produce timbers for my house and then odds and ends but not for production type work.   Now that the house is built, I have had neighbors asking me if I want the trees they need taken down and I have been doing some custom sawing for folks that want something they can't buy at a big box store.  I have tried to keep income limited to below tax threshold each year or to do bartering.  I now see that it would probably be beneficial to me to incorporate as an LLC, if nothing else just for the liability and tax write off benefits potentially available.  I don't plan to get real big or hire anyone other than family or friends on a part time cash basis.  I would like to be able to purchase my fuel and materials tax exempt and sell the saw, tractor, etc to the business.  Also be able to do some advertizing and write that off as well.  My business plan is to primarily cut waste material and turn it into fireplace mantles, tables, furniture and household accessories sold at local craft exhibits etc.  Other business would be downed tree removal, brush and small lot clearing, custom sawing long boards & timbers up to 32' and maybe a few pre-cut timberframe shed kits.  Custom planing services up to 18" wide, custom hardwood moldings, and sale of pine and cedar shavings/sawdust for animal bedding and maybe some firewood.  This will be a side business in addition to my 9-5 job for now and then will be full time once I reach "retirement" age.

So here are my questions:

1. How did you go about legally incorporating your milling business and what did it cost.
2. Are there certain tips about how to structure company.
3. How do you go about selling personal owned equipment to the business.