iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

So what's left

Started by ehp, May 01, 2014, 07:44:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ehp

If I wanted to buy a new cable skidder  what can I buy and I would perfer small compared to big , I got a 230 A TJ with cummins in pretty good shape but once I wear it out then what do I do, I always liked the clark skidders but I believe they are gone so what next to buy a new JD 540 ?

SliverPicker

Check Black Hills Timber Equipment.  They have a Clark that looks good and a 380 TJ that looks exceptional.  I saw both machines in person.  Decent prices too.
Yooper by trade.

dnash

New? Tigercat 604 maybe...

Cat doesn't make new cable machines by the looks of their website. The smallest grapple is the 525C at 39,000lbs.

For the price of a new machine, you'd probably be further ahead to completely rebuild the 230.
JD 440C
JD 640D
Timberjack 205HR
JD 329E skidsteer
JD CT322 skidsteer

BargeMonkey

604C is a good sized machine, work circles around a 230. Your choices are limited, maybe a 380C ?  I just recently bought a 450C, and its not as big in the woods as I thought, grapple is fast and your not fighting your butt off all the time. Michael sharp has a couple low hour 540's up there I wouldnt be scared off, 540 is just the right size.

Brleclaire

Apparently after 2015 you won't get a 540 either, see thread about 548's. Rebuilding your skidder is beginning to be one option to consider. With the new machines and all the electronics more people are looking at having their old stuff rebuilt. Especially with the tier 4 engines here in the US. Just seems like a lot of stuff to go wrong. Cat has a program where they take your old timbco strip it down and totally rebuild it for about half the price of new.

thenorthman

A little maintenance goes a long way...

motors can be rebuilt, or swapped.

Axles are rebuildable just not as common, really just new bearings, planetarys and diffs the housings should be ok.

hydraulics are cheap,