iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Felling Video

Started by SliverPicker, April 29, 2014, 10:35:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SliverPicker

I stumbled across this.  Pretty interesting.  I hope this guy posts more videos.  There's a dandy clip at about 2:45.

Enjoy.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DlqOEho4f0w
Yooper by trade.

clww

Enjoyed that video, once I turned the noise off. ::)
That spot you pointed out at 2:45 scared me. :o :o I've had a couple do that, but nowhere near that large a tree.
Many Stihl Saws-16"-60"
"Go Ask The Other Master Chief"
18-Wheeler Driver

Jeff

Ha! Almost exactly what I was about to post!

A most excellent video once muted. :)  Yea, wicked moment there at 2:45
Just call me the midget doctor.
Forestry Forum Founder and Chief Cook and Bottle Washer.

Commercial circle sawmill sawyer in a past life for 25yrs.
Ezekiel 22:30

thecfarm

I was yelling to that guy to go up hill. Things can go wrong quick.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

Road Runner

The almost disasterous mishap at 2:45 is a good example of why to have an escape route at 45 degrees away from the stump.  On most of these trees the faller or fallers stood or exited behind the stump directly in line with the falling tree.
WM LT40G25, Kubota MX5100, Husqvarna 365 & R460

SliverPicker

A 45 degree escape isn't always possible. 
Yooper by trade.

Huskstihl

Quote from: Jeff on April 29, 2014, 11:05:33 AM
Ha! Almost exactly what I was about to post!

A most excellent video once muted. :)  Yea, wicked moment there at 2:45