iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

HM 126 New Guy

Started by WillWarner, April 29, 2014, 09:48:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

WillWarner

I have no experience in sawing other than that last month or so.  I had 40 or so eastern red cedars die this last year and decided I was going to build something out of them so I bought an HM 126 from Woodland Mills.  Mill and all works really great I have cut several hundred boards but I am using up blades terribly fast.  At least fast in my opinion.  As I have said I have no real experience other than just diving in on my own and now I am looking for help and knowledge as to why I am using blades.  I maybe have 10 to 15 hours on the machine and have used 6 blades. Any ideas?
Ephesians 2:8-10

thecfarm

WillWarner,welcome to the forum. I have no idea about red cedar,but the cedar I have will dull a blade faster than other trees. How are you getting the logs out of the woods? Dragging them on the ground will put a lot of dirt on them. I peel my cedar this time of year.
Model 6020-20hp Manual Thomas bandsaw,TC40A 4wd 40 hp New Holland tractor, 450 Norse Winch, Heatmor 400 OWB,YCC 1978-79

Sixacresand

Welcome to the Forum, WillWarner. 
"Sometimes you can make more hay with less equipment if you just use your head."  Tom, Forestry Forum.  Tenth year with a LT40 Woodmizer,

MAI

WillWarner,

Welcome to the FF. 

WillWarner

I dont really drag them around much mostly pull a trailer up along side of them and since I dont have a tractor i pick up one end at a time by hand and wrangle them up on the trailer then haul them to my pile.

Magicman

Hello WillWarner, and Welcome to the Forestry Forum.  Yes, if you are talking about ERC, it will dull blades faster than most anything else, but not at the rate of a blade per hour.  If the blades are dulling then whatever your are sawing is dulling then, whether it be the Cedar, or dirt, or ??