iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

Portage & Main or Crown Royal

Started by blczech, April 15, 2014, 08:12:15 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

blczech

I have been doing a fair amount of reach on gasification stoves. Trying to figure out which brand would be the best. The Crown Royal is 409 stainless, not sure if that is a pro or a con. Lookingfor any good info and any experince with hoaving them

sawguy21

For a moment I thought we were discussing whiskey. :D Welcome.
old age and treachery will always overcome youth and enthusiasm

boilerman101

I've been burning a Central Boiler Eclassic 2400 since 2010. Been a great furnace and have had no issues. Very easy on wood. They have led the way in OWF gassifiers. You might want to check out this video and consider one of these as well.
http://www.youtube.com/embed/rwL01iW36MA?rel=0&modestbranding=1&autoplay=1

Roger2561

Like Boilerman101, I too have the Central Boiler OWB.  Mine is the E-Classic 1400.  This is my 3rd season heating with it and I've been very happy with the way it operates.  I'm heating 3000sqft and my domestic hot-water using about around 7 to 7 1/2 cord of wood.  The past couple of years due to the temperatures being on the warm side I used 6 to 6 1/2 cord of wood.  I keep my home at 70 degrees 24/7.  The only room that's kept cooler is my bedroom, 70 degrees is too hot to sleep.  I put wood in it every 12 hours.  I have never filled the firebox completely full even with the brutal weather we experienced this year.  I hope this helps and good luck with your search.  Roger     
Roger

gspren

I like my P&M but it isn't a gasser. Centrals and P&M gassers seem to get good reviews while I haven't heard much about Crown Royal. As to the stainless it depends on design, stainless will tend to move and buckle more during temperature changes which is more stressful to the welds.
Stihl 041, 044 & 261, Kubota 400 RTV, Kubota BX 2670, Ferris Zero turn

Corley5