iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

quick question....

Started by JamieT, April 02, 2014, 10:49:03 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamieT

Had a lady call this morning wanting a quote for flooring. She wants pine to cover the floors in her house. She says she wants 6,8,12 inch wide boards and needs to cover 1800square feet. Is there a quick way to figure board footage?
Learned just about everything I know, from the greatest man ive ever known. My father! Everything else was self taught thru the school of HARD KNOCKS ;-)

drobertson

only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

backwoods sawyer

Length x width x thickness, devide by 12
1800 sqft = 1800 bft x1"
but you need extra for tounge and grove, with wide pieces there will be a % of degrade in the processing, may want to add an over run % to compensate, maybe as high as 25% others will be able to give more accurate info on this.
Backwoods Custom Milling Inc.
100% portable. . Oregons largest portable sawmill service, serving all of Oregon, from our Backwoods to yours..sawing since 1991

JamieT

She wants 3 different sizes. Would I just divide 1800 by 3, then figure how many of each width its gonna take to make 600 each?
Learned just about everything I know, from the greatest man ive ever known. My father! Everything else was self taught thru the school of HARD KNOCKS ;-)

drobertson

Jamie, that is what came to my mind too, and as backwoods suggested, add extra for sure, how much? not sure might consult with a pro,, for what is a common amount for extra. 
only have a few chain saws I'm not suppose to use, but will at times, one dog Dolly, pretty good dog, just not sure what for yet,  working on getting the gardening back in order, and kinda thinking on maybe a small bbq bizz,  thinking about it,

scsmith42