iDRY Vacuum Kilns

Sponsors:

what to do....???

Started by JamieT, March 25, 2014, 01:30:48 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JamieT

Ok guys, had a guy wanting 200bf of walnut cut. 1x8x10's. Explained to him that it was wet, he didn't mind so I cut the order. 90% of his boards were dark. So i call the fella, tell him the order is cut. He comes out and sees"SAP" wood in a few of the boards and says he cant have that, got in his truck and left. Not only that, he had the audacity to call me about 45 mins later telling me when I had full dark boards to call him.
Now I cant speak for everyone, but to me, walnut is walnut! The dark comes with the light. So i guess my question would be, to those of you selling walnut, do you only sell the dark wood? Im not willing to waste all the light wood!
Learned just about everything I know, from the greatest man ive ever known. My father! Everything else was self taught thru the school of HARD KNOCKS ;-)

ohwc

Contract Contract Contract for custom milling with all specs included. We also learned this the hard way. Then deposit of a min. 50%. Also include if they fail to pick up after 30 days ownership of materials reverts back to you with out a refund. Fortunately this does not happen often. I never used to require this until I had three individuals fail to pick up items done exactly to spec, never bothered to contact me back. I think they ran out of money and we did not have a deposit from these people.

Larry

When I lived in north Missouri 80% of what I sawed was walnut off our farm.  I learned real quick it is impossible to please the retail customer with walnut.  I refused all retail walnut sales except for log run, they take it all.  No exceptions and I was perfectly clear they took (and paid for) the lumber no matter if it was good, bad, sapwood, or whatever.

If you don't handle it this way you get stuck with all the sapwood which is near impossible to move retail.